Town of Becket

fx: 413-623-6036

Presidential Primary Minutes 2/5/08

Pursuant to the foregoing warrant, the Presidential Primary was held in the Becket Town Hall, 557 Main Street, on February 5, 2008. The polling hours were 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Prior to the polls opening, the Ballot Box was publicly opened, examined and found to be empty; the register was set at zero. The results of the election are as follows:

DEMOCRATIC	VOTES	333 Ballots Cast		
Presidential Preference (Vote for one Candidate OR vote for "No Preference")				
Blanks	0			
John R. Edwards	2			
Hillary Clinton	170			
Joseph R. Biden, Jr.	1			
Christopher J. Dodd	0			
Mike Gravel	0			
Barack Obama	157			
Dennis J. Kucinich	1			
Bill Richardson	0			
NO PREFERENCE	2			
Write Ins:	0			
	~			
TOTAL VOTES	333			
State Committee Man (Vote for One Man)				
Blanks	77			
Peter G. Arlos	146			
Matt L. Barron	109			
Write Ins:				
All Others	1			
TOTAL VOTES	333			
State Committee Woman (Vote for One Woman)				
Blanks	103			
Margaret Johnson Ware	229			
Write Ins:				
All Others	1			
TOTAL VOTES	333			
Town Committee (Vote for not more than 35 OR Vote for Group)				
Blanks	11652			
Write Ins:	0			
All Others	3			
TOTAL VOTES	11655			
REPUBLICAN	VOTES	80 Ballots Cast		
Presidential Preference (Vote for one Candidate OR vote for "No Preference")				
Blanks	0			
John McCain	38			
Fred Thompson	1			
Tom Tancredo	0			

GREEN-RAINBOW	VOTES	1 Ballots Cast
Presidential Preference (Vote for one Candidate OR vote for "No Preference")		
Blanks	0	
Jared Ball	0	
Ralph Nader	1	
Elaine Brown	0	
Kat Swift	0	
Cynthia McKinney	0	
Kent Mesplay	0	
NO PREFERENCE	0	
Write Ins:	0	
TOTAL VOTES	1	
State Committee Man (Vote for One Man)		
Blanks	1	
Write Ins:	0	
	~	
TOTAL VOTES	1	
State Committee Woman (Vote for One Woman)		
Blanks	1	
Write Ins:	0	
	~	
TOTAL VOTES	1	
Town Committee (Vote for not more than 10)		
Blanks	10	
Write Ins:	0	
TOTAL VOTES	10	
	VOTES	0 Ballots Cast

WORKING FAMILIES		
Presidential Preference (Vote for one Candidate OR vote for "No Preference")		
Blanks	0	
NO PREFERENCE	0	
Write Ins:	0	
TOTAL VOTES	0	
State Committee Man (Vote for One Man)		
Blanks	0	
Write Ins:	0	
TOTAL VOTES	0	
State Committee Woman (Vote for One Woman)		
Blanks	0	
Write Ins:	0	
TOTAL VOTES	0	
Town Committee (Vote for not more than 3)		
Blanks	0	
Write Ins:	0	
TOTAL VOTES	0	
Registered voters:	1211	
Ballots cast:	414	
Percent Voting	34%	

A total of 414 votes were cast. There were 22 absentee ballots, 2 Provisional ballots and 4 spoiled ballots. The AutoMARK voter assist terminal was tested at 6:50 a.m. and 1:08 p.m. Election Officials were Dorothy Bellavance, Eva Bonney, Joyce Brownhill, Claire Daigle, Gale LaBelle (Warden), Blanche Lennington, and Joan Moylan (Clerk). The Constable was Michael Sawyer. The polls closed at 7:00 p.m. and the unofficial results were printed and posted.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeanne W. Pryor, Town Clerk