Town of Becket

ph: 413-623-8934 **fx:** 413-623-6036

Caucus Minutes 4/9/13

Pursuant to the foregoing notice, a Town Caucus was held in the Becket Town Hall on April 9, 2013. The meeting was called to order promptly at noon by Town Clerk George E. Roberts and the following Caucus Officers were elected: Gale LaBelle, Chair (Presiding Officer); Patricia Clemons, Secretary. 67 voters of the town participated and cast ballots for the nomination of candidates. The results were as follows; the names of the candidates nominated appear in **bold**:

		<u>Votes</u>	%
For Member, Board of Selectmen (3-year term)	Vote for One		
	Mark Karlberg	34	51%
	Marc Portieri (write-in)	12	18%
	All Others (write-ins)	5	
	Blanks	16	
	Total Votes Cast	67	
For Member, Board of Health (3-year term)	Vote for One		
	John Amato	36	54%
	Gale LaBelle (write-in)	12	18%
	All Others (write-ins)	4	
	Blanks	15	
	Total Votes Cast	67	
For Member, Board of Health (2-year term) Vote for One			
	Laurel Burgwardt	48	72%
	Robert Ronzio (write-in)	11	16%
	All Others (write-ins)	3	
	Blanks	5	
	Total Votes Cast	67	
For Member, Board of Health (1-year term)	Vote for One		
Н	oward Lerner (write-in)	16	24%
Laurel Burgwardt (write-in)		10	15%
A	All Others (write-ins)	9	
	Blanks	32	
	Total Votes Cast	67	
For Cemetery Commissioner (3-year term)	Vote for One		
	William F. Cavanaugh	50	75%
	All Others (write-ins)	2	
	Blanks	15	
	Total Votes Cast	67	
For Member, Finance Committee (3-year term)	Vote for Two		
	Stephen LaBelle	50	37%
	Daniel Parnell	52	39%
	All Others (write-ins)	1	
	Blanks	31	
	Total Votes Cast	134	
For Member, Planning Board (5-year term)	Vote for One		
	Ann Krawet	58	87%
	All Others (write-ins)	0	
	Blanks	9	
	Total Votes Cast	67	

Registered voters:	1351	
Ballots cast:	67	
Percent Voting	5%	
Per MGL 53:121, "If a person receives less than eight per cent of the votes of those voting for candidates for such office, he shall not be declared nominated."		
Per MGL 53:121, "At a town caucusthe two persons receiving the highest number of votes cast for the nomintion of candidates for an office shall be declared nominated for such office"		

The polls closed promptly at 7:00 pm. The election workers were: Gale LaBelle, Patricia Clemons, Meridyth Babcock, Beth VanNess, and Josh Lombard. The Constable was Michael Sawyer.

Respectfully submitted,

George E. Roberts Town Clerk