TOWN OF BECKET, MASSACHUSETTS
How to Obtain a Marriage License in Massachusetts
According to Massachusetts law, a prospective couple must jointly file intentions to marry and may do so with the city or town clerk in any community in the state. There is a mandatory three-day waiting period before the license can be issued. Once obtained, the marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date the intentions are filed and may be used in any Massachusetts city or town. The license is not valid outside of the state.
If you plan to file marriage intentions in the Town of Becket, please call the Town Clerk at 413-623-8934 to set up an appointment as Marriage Intentions are done by appointment only.
Fees for the marriage license vary from town to town. The Town of Becket fee is $25.00 and includes entering the Notice of Intention of Marriage, issuing the marriage license, and providing the couple with one certified copy of the marriage certificate after it is recorded.
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 207: Marriage. Particular sections of interest:
· Section 1: Marriage of Man to Certain Relatives
· Section 2: Marriage of Woman to Certain Relatives
· Section 4: Polygamy
· Section 7: Minors; Solemnization of Marriage (Prohibits marrying individuals under 18). See also, Parton v. Hervey, 67 Mass. 119 (1854) for more discussion of the marriage of minors.
· Section 14: Determination of Validity (Annulment)
· Section 24: Nonage minors; receiving of notice; prohibition (Age requirement is 18)
· Section 25: Nonage minors; authorization of marriage (Parental consent required under 18)